Optical and technical glasses

Werkstoffe CNC Glasbearbeitung

Glass is one of the oldest materials known to mankind and has become an indispensable part of countless industries. Our offer includes precise glass processing of a wide variety of materials. Below you will find a selection of the classic types of glass and their properties. 

In addition, we offer processing of other glass materials such as sapphire glass, calcium fluride. 

Do you wish the processing of another material? Then please send us a Request.

Material properties

Properties

Borosilicate glass

NBK-7®

Zerodur®

fused silica

Density p [gcm3]

2,2

2,5

2,5

2,2

Coefficient of expansion a (20°C – 300°C) [1*10-6/K]

3,3

8,3

2,2 (K20)

0,6 (0-300°C)

Transformation temperature T[°C]

525

557

670

n.a.

Refractive index ne (546,1 nm)

1,5

1,5

1,6

1,5

Abbe coefficient v

65,4

63,7

55,9

67,6

E-Modul E [103 N/mm2]

64

82

90

73

Knoop hardness HK0,1/20

480

610

620

522

Note: The property values given are approximate values.

Borosilicate glass

The name of this technical glass type comes from the two main components silicon dioxide as well as botrioxide. Components made of this glass are characterized by a very low coefficient of expansion and excellent temperature resistance. In addition, borosilicate glass has a high chemical resistance. Especially Borofloat® 33 (SCHOTT AG) is very resistant to acids, alkalis and other liquids. In addition, the glass offers low intrinsic fluorescence and high transparency in the visible and near IR / UV range. 

Relative costs of material:
2/5

NBK-7®

It is a commonly used optical glass, more precisely a chemically stable borosilicate crown glass (SCHOTT AG). It is often used for high-quality optics and prisms because it contains very few bubbles or inclusions. Due to its high coefficient of expansion, it is more sensitive to thermal fluctuations than quartz glass, for example. 

Relative costs of material:
2.5/5

Zerodur®

Zerodur is an optical glass-ceramic that is particularly known for its very low coefficient of thermal expansion (SCHOTT AG). This material is therefore particularly suitable for applications within aerospace or laser technology, where the component geometry is to be maintained despite high temperature fluctuations. 

Relative costs of material:
4/5

fused silica

Fused silica consists of silicon oxide. Due to its very high purity, it is one of the most commonly used glasses for optical applications. In addition, this material is well suited for complex shaping and polishing with very tight tolerances. The property values given are based on the example of Corning® HPFS® 7979, 7980, 8655 (CORNING, Inc.)

Relative costs of material:
3.5/5
en_USEnglish

Optische und technische Gläser

Werkstoffe CNC Glasbearbeitung

Glas gehört zu den ältesten Werkstoffen der Menschheit und ist aus unzähligen Branchen nicht mehr weg zu denken. Unser Angebot umfasst die präzise Glasbearbeitung unterschiedlichster Werkstoffe. Nachfolgend finden Sie eine Auswahl der klassischen Glasarten sowie deren Eigenschaften. 

Daneben bieten wir die Bearbeitung weiterer Glaswerkstoffe wie Saphirglas, Calciumflurid an. 

Wünschen Sie die Bearbeitung eines weiteren Werkstoffes? Dann schicken Sie uns gerne eine Anfrage.

Werkstoffeigenschaften

Eigenschaften

Borosilikatglas

NBK-7®

Zerodur®

Quarzglas

Dichte p [gcm3]

2,2

2,5

2,5

2,2

Ausdehnungskoeffizient a (20°C – 300°C) [1*10-6/K]

3,3

8,3

2,2 (K20)

0,6 (0-300°C)

Transformationstemperatur T[°C]

525

557

670

n.a.

Brechungsindex ne (546,1 nm)

1,5

1,5

1,6

1,5

Abbesche Zahl v

65,4

63,7

55,9

67,6

E-Modul E [103 N/mm2]

64

82

90

73

Knoop-Härte HK0,1/20

480

610

620

522

Hinweis: Die angegebenen Eigenschaftswerte verstehen sich als Richtwerte.

Borosilikatglas

Der Name dieser technischen Glasart stammt von den beiden Hauptbestandteile Siliziumdioxid sowie Botrioxid. Komponenten aus diesem Glas zeichnen sich durch einen sehr geringen Ausdehnungskoeffizient und eine exzellente Temperaturbeständigkeit aus. Daneben besitzt Borosilikatglas eine hohe chemische Beständigkeit. Besonders das spezielle Borosilikatglas Borofloat® 33 (SCHOTT AG) ist sehr resistent gegenüber Säuren, Laugen und anderen Flüssigkeiten. Daneben bietet das Glas eine geringe Eigenfluoreszenz und eine hohe Transparenz im sichtbaren und nahen IR / UV-Bereich. 

Relative Werktstoffkosten:
2/5

NBK-7®

Es handelt sich um ein häufig verwendetes optisches Glas, genauer um ein chemisch-stabiles Borosilikat-Kronglas (SCHOTT AG). Es wird häufig für hochwertige Optiken und Prismen verwendet, da es besonders wenig Blasen oder Einschlüsse beinhaltet. Aufgrund des hohen Ausdehnungskoeffizienten, ist es gegenüber thermischen Schwankungen empfindlicher als beispielsweise Quarzglas. 

Relative Werktstoffkosten:
2.5/5

Zerodur®

Zerodur ist eine optische Glaskeramik, die besonders für ihren sehr geringen Wärmeausdehnungskoeffizienten bekannt ist (SCHOTT AG). Dieser Werkstoff eignet sich deshalb besonders für Anwendungen innerhalb der Luft- und Raumfahrt oder Lasertechnik, bei denen die Bauteilgeometrie trotz hoher Temperaturschwankungen beibehalten werden soll. 

Relative Werktstoffkosten:
4/5

Quarzglas

Quarzglas oder auch Fused Silica besteht aus Siliziumoxid. Aufgrund des sehr hohen Reinheitsgrades, ist es ist einer der am häufigsten verwendeten Gläser für optische Anwendungen. Zudem eignet sich dieser Werkstoff gut für eine komplexe Formgebung und Politur mit sehr engen Toleranzen. Die angegebene Eigenschaftswerte wurden am Beispiel von Corning® HPFS® 7979, 7980, 8655 angegeben (CORNING, Inc.)

Relative Werktstoffkosten:
3.5/5
de_DEGerman